Executive Leadership


Walter Kim became the NAE president in January 2020. He also serves as teacher-in-residence at Trinity Presbyterian Church in Charlottesville, Virginia, after ministering for 15 years at Boston’s historic Park Street Church. He has spent nearly three decades preaching, writing and engaging in collaborative leadership to connect the Bible to the significant intellectual, cultural and social issues of the day. Kim received his Ph.D. from Harvard University in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, his M.Div. from Regent College in Vancouver, and his B.A. from Northwestern University, and he is a licensed minister in the Conservative Congregational Christian Conference.


Heather Gonzales, NAE vice president and chief operating officer, has served the NAE since 2005, most recently as association director. Previously, she worked for IRI, an international democracy promotion organization; Africa Inland Mission in Namibia; and several congressional offices. Gonzales holds degrees in history and business management from Huntington College and a Masters of Liberal Studies from Georgetown University.


Galen Carey, NAE vice president of government relations, is responsible for representing the NAE before Congress, the White House and the courts. He works to advance the approach and principles of the NAE document, “For the Health of the Nation.” Before joining the NAE staff, Carey was a longtime employee of World Relief, the relief and development arm of the NAE, serving in Croatia, Mozambique, Kenya, Indonesia and Burundi. He received an M.Div. from Trinity Evangelical Divinity School, and a Doctor of Ministry from McCormick Theological Seminary.


Sarah Kropp Brown, NAE vice president of communications and marketing, provides strategic oversight to the organization’s communications, marketing and branding efforts. She also serves as the NAE public relations officer, editor of Evangelicals magazine and producer of Today’s Conversation podcast. She joined the NAE team in 2007, and has served as a board member of the Evangelical Press Association. Kropp Brown graduated with a journalism degree from John Brown University.


Chaplain Steven E. West, executive director of the NAE’s Evangelical Chaplains Commission, served as an active duty chaplain in the U.S. Air Force. He served in the Air Force and Army for 41 years, retiring from his distinguished career as senior chaplain for Joint Base Langley/Eustis. West is the author of “The Bronze Scar: Understanding How PTSD Feels to Help Victims and Those Who Support Them.” He is a graduate of University of Mobile, New Orleans Theological Seminary, Alabama Theological Seminary and the Department of Defense Joint Staff College.


Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Randall Bach
Open Bible Churches

Doug Clay
Assemblies of God

Nick Hall
Founder, PULSE

Michael Henderson
Senior Pastor, New Beginnings Church
Vice President of National Ministries, Converge Worldwide

John Jenkins
First Baptist Church of Glenarden

Walter Kim
National Association of Evangelicals

Jo Anne Lyon
The Wesleyan Church

Johnnie Moore
The KAIROS Company

Carl Nelson
Transform Minnesota

Deborah Smith Pegues
Confronting Issues

Ed Stetzer
The Billy Graham Center

Board of Directors

Emmanuel Agormeda
Ryan Alexander
Dana Allin
Scott Arbeiter
Ken Artz
John Ashmen
Randall Bach
Chris Ball
Jim Baucom
Doug Beacham
David C. Brown
Galen Carey
Randy Carter
Noel Castellanos
Filiamo Chambo
Timothy Clarke
Doug Clay
Steven Cole
Clint Cook
Alan Cureton
Charlie Dates
Timothy Dalrymple
Blaine Donaldson
Steve Douglass
Ted Esler
Wayne Evans
Doug Fagerstrom
Todd Fetters
Jay Forseth
Heather Gonzales
Larry Graber
Carl Greene
Nick Hall
Dan Hamil
Ron Hamilton
Gary Hartke
Chad Hayward
Randy Heckert
Tami Heim
Daniel Henderson
Michael Henderson
Mitchell Hescox
Bruce Hill
Timothy Hill
Kenneth Hodder
Shirley Hoogstra
John Hopler
Allen Hughes
John K. Jenkins
Jeffrey Jeremiah
Greg Johnson
Paula Johnson
Steve Jones
Walter Kim
Kevin Kompelien
Steve Lawson
Dhati Lewis
Jo Anne Lyon
Jim Lyon
Alejandro Mandes
Nicole Martin
Kevin McBride
Johnnie Moore
Steve Moore
Don Morris
Shirley Mullen
Rich Nathan
Carl Nelson
William Nolte
Doug Nuenke
Daryl Nuss
Phu Pham
Kimberly Reisman
Randy Remington
Scott Ridout
Larry Roberts
Alan Robinson
Rocky Rocholl
Samuel Rodriguez, Jr.
Philip Ryken
Gabriel Salguero
Alvin Sanders
Wayne Schmidt
Eric Skytte
Deborah Smith Pegues
Dorothy Smith
George Soltero
Rich Stearns
Ed Stetzer
Phil Strout
John Stumbo
Greg Surratt
Shannon Truelove
John Upton
Colin Watson
Roger Weaks
Steve West
Greg Williams
William Wilson
George Wood
Charles Yu